Best High-Protein Sheep Feed Options for Lambs and Flocks
For a high-protein sheep ration, compare the guaranteed protein analysis on the bag and choose feed formulated for the animal’s age and purpose. Among these options, Purina Honor Showlamb Stretch lists 17% protein, and Nutrena Country Feeds lists 16%. Show Star is intended for young growing lambs, while Country Heritage is a lower-protein, all-stock option. Fat-N-Fluffy is described for swine, so it is not a sheep-feed recommendation.
| Product | Listed protein | Best suited for |
|---|---|---|
| Nutrena Country Feeds | 16% | Sheep keepers seeking a dedicated feed with no added copper |
| Show Star Textured Feed | Not stated in supplied features | Young growing lambs |
| Purina Honor Showlamb Stretch | 17% in product name | Show lambs and breeding stock |
| Country Heritage All Stock | 12% | Mixed herds needing a multipurpose feed |
| Show-Rite Fat-N-Fluffy | Not stated | Not presented as sheep feed |
Nutrena Country Feeds 16% Textured Sheep Feed

Best for: Sheep owners looking for a dedicated feed with a stated 16% protein level. Its product name identifies it as sheep feed, making it a more directly targeted choice than an all-stock ration.
The listed features describe a palatable pelleted feed, fortified with vitamins and minerals, with no added copper. Those details make it a clear option to compare when a flock owner wants a formulated sheep feed and is checking the label for copper information.
Limitation: The supplied product details do not specify age, production stage, or a complete feeding program. Check the bag directions and consult a sheep nutrition professional to determine whether it fits the flock’s full ration.
Show Star Textured Feed for Growing Lambs

Best for: Buyers seeking a product specifically described for young, growing lambs. Its intended life stage is a useful distinction when comparing feeds for lambs with products aimed at mature sheep or mixed livestock.
Listed features include a textured form, high molasses for improved palatability, and no added copper. The listing also says it contains sodium molybdate to protect against excess copper in the diet and is medicated for prevention of coccidiosis.
Limitation: The supplied features do not state its protein percentage. Because it is medicated, read the label carefully and confirm that its directions and use fit the lambs’ situation before feeding.
Purina Honor Showlamb Stretch 17 TXT DX

Best for: Show-lamb owners comparing a textured feed with a stated 17% protein level. The listing describes an easily digested blend of processed grains, cottonseed hulls, premix pellet, and molasses.
Its elevated fiber and protein, together with lower energy, are described as suitable for limited-exercise programs, easy-fleshing breeds, and breeding stock. The listing also says it can be used for market lambs when stretching the feeding period without losing shape.
Limitation: This product is positioned for specific feeding goals, not as a universal ration. Review its label and compare its energy and fiber profile with the needs of the particular lambs.
Country Heritage 12% All Stock Textured Feed

Best for: Owners managing mixed herds of horses, cattle, sheep, and goats who need a multipurpose feed. The listing gives an analysis of 12% protein, 2.5% fat, and 18% fiber, so it is easy to compare against higher-protein sheep-specific choices.
The feed is described as a palatable textured blend of grains. Its all-stock positioning may suit buyers prioritizing one product for several species, but it is not the highest-protein option in this comparison.
Limitation: The listed 12% protein is lower than the 16% and 17% levels shown for two other products. Do not assume that a mixed-species feed meets the needs of every sheep; review its label and the whole ration.
Show-Rite Fat-N-Fluffy 20-Pound Bag

Best for: Buyers researching a fat-source supplement for show animals, not people specifically seeking a high-protein sheep feed. The listing describes a blend of fat sources encapsulated within dairy proteins to support palatability and intake.
The supplied directions specifically describe feeding it to pigs weighing 150 pounds or more, with a stated starting amount and maximum daily amount per head. That makes the intended use in the listing especially important to note when comparing it with sheep feeds.
Limitation: The product details do not identify it as sheep feed or give sheep feeding directions. Do not treat it as a sheep ration or feed it to sheep based on the pig directions; seek species-specific guidance.
Buying Guide: How to Compare High-Protein Sheep Feed
What protein level should you compare?
Start with the guaranteed analysis on the current product label, not just a product title or general claim. In this selection, Nutrena lists 16% in its name and Purina lists 17%. Protein percentage alone does not establish that a feed is the right complete ration; animals’ age, condition, and purpose also matter.
Should you choose feed for lambs or adult sheep?
Match the product’s intended animal to the flock. Show Star is described for young growing lambs, while Purina’s listing discusses show lambs and breeding stock. Nutrena is identified as sheep feed. Check the manufacturer’s label for directions applicable to the animals you are feeding.
Why check copper and medication details?
Sheep feed selection requires attention to the full ingredient and label information, including copper-related statements. Nutrena and Show Star are listed as having no added copper; Show Star also mentions sodium molybdate and medication for coccidiosis prevention. Confirm the label and ask a veterinarian or qualified nutritionist if you have questions about flock-specific risks or medication use.
Is textured feed or pelleted feed better?
The listings describe different forms: Nutrena is pelleted, while Show Star, Purina, and Country Heritage are textured. Compare the form, listed ingredients, and feeding directions with your management needs. The supplied product descriptions do not establish that one form is universally better.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which listed product has the highest stated protein?
Purina Honor Showlamb Stretch lists 17% in its product name, the highest stated percentage among the products with a protein figure provided.
Which option is specifically for growing lambs?
Show Star is described as textured feed for young growing lambs. Its supplied features do not state a protein percentage.
Is an all-stock feed the same as sheep-specific feed?
No. Country Heritage is described as a multipurpose feed for several species and lists 12% protein. Compare its label with sheep-specific products and the flock’s nutritional needs.
Can Fat-N-Fluffy be used as high-protein sheep feed?
The supplied listing describes a fat-source supplement and gives directions for pigs, not sheep. It does not establish that the product is suitable as sheep feed.
Does a higher protein percentage guarantee a suitable ration?
No. Protein is one part of a feed’s nutritional profile. Consider the product’s intended use, full label, and the sheep’s life stage and feeding program.