Best Flea and Tick Treatments for Small Dogs

The best flea and tick treatment for a small dog depends on the dog’s exact weight, the parasites you need to target, and whether you prefer a monthly topical or a multipack supply. PetArmor Plus and FRONTLINE Plus suit dogs weighing 5–22 pounds; Hartz UltraGuard is for 5–14 pounds; TevraPet Activate II is for 4–10 pounds. Apex Plus also lists a 5–22-pound formula, though its supplied details focus mainly on flea control. Always check the package directions and your veterinarian’s guidance before applying a treatment.

Product Best For Listed Weight Range
PetArmor Plus Flea life-cycle control 5–22 lb
FRONTLINE Plus Waterproof treatment after 24 hours 5–22 lb
Hartz UltraGuard Six monthly doses for smaller dogs 5–14 lb
TevraPet Activate II Dogs at the lower end of small-dog weights 4–10 lb
Apex Plus Flea-stage targeting in a three-month supply 5–22 lb

PetArmor Plus Flea & Tick Topical

PetArmor Plus flea and tick topical for small dogs

Check Price on Amazon

PetArmor Plus is best for small dogs weighing 5–22 pounds when the goal includes disrupting the flea life cycle, not only killing adult fleas. Its listed active ingredients are fipronil and (S)-methoprene. The product information says it kills fleas, flea eggs, flea larvae, ticks, and chewing lice for up to 30 days after application, and begins killing fleas within 24 hours.

Choose this if you want a monthly topical with listed activity against several flea stages and waterproof protection. The stated weight range is broad for a small-dog product, so confirm that your dog falls within the package’s exact range. The supplied details do not identify which tick species it targets.

FRONTLINE Plus For Small Breed Dogs

FRONTLINE Plus spot treatment for small breed dogs

Check Price on Amazon

FRONTLINE Plus is best for dogs weighing 5–22 pounds whose owners want a spot treatment described as fast-acting and long-lasting. This package contains three treatments. The product details state that it is waterproof 24 hours after application.

Choose this if the 5–22-pound range fits your dog and the listed waterproof feature matters to your routine. The provided information does not specify the full list of parasites targeted, the duration of each dose, or a flea-kill onset time. Check the current package label for those details before choosing it over products with more explicitly listed coverage.

Hartz UltraGuard Dual Action Topical

Hartz UltraGuard topical flea and tick treatment

Check Price on Amazon

Hartz UltraGuard is best for dogs weighing 5–14 pounds when a six-count supply is a priority. Its listed coverage includes fleas, flea eggs, deer ticks, and brown dog ticks. The topical formula is described as spreading across the skin through the dog’s natural oil, and the product says it prevents flea reinfestation by breaking the flea life cycle for up to 30 days.

Choose this if your dog fits the narrower weight range and the stated tick species match your prevention needs. Avoid assuming it is appropriate for a dog over 14 pounds: the listed formula is specifically for 5–14-pound dogs. The supplied details do not state that it is waterproof.

TevraPet Activate II For Small Dogs

TevraPet Activate II flea and tick prevention

Check Price on Amazon

TevraPet Activate II is best for small dogs weighing 4–10 pounds. The package includes four doses, and the product information describes monthly topical application. It says the treatment kills fleas and ticks on contact, starts working within 12 hours, and breaks the flea life cycle. It also lists mosquitoes among the parasites it is intended to protect against.

Choose this if your dog is within the listed weight range and you want four monthly doses. The weight range is narrower than those of PetArmor Plus and FRONTLINE Plus, so it is not the match for dogs above 10 pounds. Follow the package directions for application and repeat timing.

Apex Plus Flea & Tick Prevention

Apex Plus flea and tick prevention for small dogs

Check Price on Amazon

Apex Plus is best for dogs weighing 5–22 pounds when targeting multiple flea life stages is a priority. The listed features say it kills adult fleas, targets eggs and larvae, and prevents the development of flea pupae. This product is described as a three-month supply.

Choose this if the weight range fits and the flea-stage information aligns with your needs. The supplied feature details do not specify tick species, application timing, or whether the treatment is waterproof. If tick prevention is your main concern, compare the label’s full parasite coverage before selecting it.

Buying Guide: How To Choose Flea And Tick Treatment

What weight range does your dog need?

Start with your dog’s current weight, then match it to the exact product package. These options cover different ranges: TevraPet lists 4–10 pounds, Hartz lists 5–14 pounds, and PetArmor Plus, FRONTLINE Plus, and Apex Plus list 5–22 pounds. Do not choose a dose based on the general label “small dog” alone.

Which parasites should the treatment cover?

Compare the product’s stated targets with your needs. Hartz specifically lists deer ticks and brown dog ticks. PetArmor Plus lists ticks, fleas, flea eggs, flea larvae, and chewing lice. TevraPet also lists mosquitoes. Apex Plus’s supplied information details flea stages but does not specify tick species, so verify its package label if tick coverage is important.

How many doses are included?

The listed packages vary: FRONTLINE Plus is a count of three, TevraPet includes four doses, Hartz includes six, and Apex Plus is described as a three-month supply. PetArmor Plus is also listed as a three-month product. Check the package contents and application schedule rather than assuming every topical has the same number of doses.

Does waterproof protection matter?

PetArmor Plus is described as waterproof, while FRONTLINE Plus is described as waterproof 24 hours after application. The supplied details do not make the same claim for Hartz, TevraPet, or Apex Plus. Follow each product’s label for bathing, swimming, and application instructions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use a small-dog treatment on any small dog?

No. Match the treatment to the dog’s exact weight range and follow the product label. “Small dog” does not mean every formula is suitable for every small dog.

Which option lists the broadest flea life-cycle coverage?

Apex Plus lists adult fleas, eggs, larvae, and prevention of flea pupae development. PetArmor Plus and Hartz also describe targeting flea eggs or larvae and breaking the flea life cycle.

Which product lists waterproof protection?

PetArmor Plus is described as waterproof. FRONTLINE Plus is described as waterproof 24 hours after application. Check labels for specific bathing or swimming instructions.

How often are these topical products applied?

Several listings describe up to 30 days of coverage or monthly application. Follow the directions on the specific package because schedules and instructions can vary.

Should I ask a veterinarian before choosing?

Ask a veterinarian if your dog has health concerns, is taking other treatments, or has a severe infestation. The Apex Plus product details specifically note that severe infestations may require veterinary input.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *